Reporting Status: Normal Wet bulb heat category: White as of 6/19/2017 04:31 PM Fire danger rating: Blue as of 1/10/2017 03:03 AM

The Mountaineer Online

Soldiers, airmen race to glory in Unit Cross Country Run

Spc. Melissa Church

3rd Brigade Combat Team Journalist

Thirty-five Fort Dum service members laced up their sneakers for a Unit Cross Country Run on Sept. 15.

The run took place on trails around Division Hill. Soldiers from 1st, 2nd and 3rd Brigade Combat Teams and 10th Sustainment Brigade participated, as well as airmen stationed at Fort Drum.

“We do 5-kilometer, 10-kilometer and cross country runs at least once a month,” said Brandon Doherty, chief of sports, fitness and aquatics. “(It gives) Soldiers the opportunity to do team building and conditioning on an early morning run.”

Runners met on Division Hill early in the morning, and despite the chilly fall temperatures, they were all excited about the chance to run with their friends.

“I came out to support the Ten-Miler team,” said Alvin Cavalier, a member of A Company, 3rd Brigade Combat Team. “This gives us a chance to qualify ourselves as a team.”

Some of the Soldiers are members of Fort Drum’s Army Ten-Miler team, and they used the run as a chance to train and see where they stand as a team.

“Any time you get together, you get to validate yourselves as a team, and we got to race the Air Force,” Cavalier said.

Runners were broken into men’s, women’s and co-ed teams. Scores were based on points. Every runner who crossed the finish line received points. The first to cross the finish line got one point; the second person got two points, and so on. The team with the lowest number of points won.

Members of the winning male team were Aaron Ullman, Michael Holl, Eric Kibby, Craig Coxwell and Titus Baker, from 20th Air Support Operations Squadron.

Winning female team members, also representing 20th ASOS, included Lindsey Rowland, Bethany Dumas, Ana Lopez and Dianne Smith.

In the coed category, winning team members were Patrick Frank, Ryan Feeney, Derek Taylor, Caitlin Hall and Joseph Maskalis, representing 3rd Brigade Combat Team. Frank serves as the brigade commander.

At the end of the race, the winning teams received trophies and an invitation to the next organized run.

The Mountaineer



Public Affairs Office
Attn: Fort Drum Mountaineer
10012 South Riva Ridge Loop
Fort Drum NY 13602-5028
This Army Civilian Enterprise Newspaper is an authorized publication for members of the U.S. Army. Contents of the Fort Drum Mountaineer Online are not necessarily the official news of, or endorsed by, the U.S. Government, the Department of Defense, Department of the Army, or Fort Drum.